Sunday, November 28

Composition of the COMESA Bureau: Egypt as Chair, Libya as Vice-President and Madagascar as Rapporteur

12:49 PM

Tuesday 23 November 2021

Cairo – AA:

André Rajoelina, President of Madagascar and President of the 20th Summit of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), announced today, Tuesday, the new office body, with Egypt chairing the summit, the Republic of Libya as its vice-chairman, and the Republic of Madagascar as general rapporteur.

In his speech during the opening session of the 21st Summit of COMESA, held today, Tuesday, in the new administrative capital, in the presence of leaders and heads of state and government members of the assembly, the President of Madagascar said that the previous summit had met 3 years ago, but the Corona pandemic prevented the meeting. In this period, he added, “Today we meet with great pleasure in this new beautiful city in Egypt (the new administrative capital), under the presidency of President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi.”

In his speech, he congratulated President El-Sisi on this new city, referring to the administrative capital, noting that President El-Sisi is building Egypt, expressing at the same time his great happiness to participate in this summit.

Immediately after that, President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi received the tools of the summit’s authority and presidency from the President of Madagascar, former President of the League Andre Rajoelina.

The 21st Summit of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) kicked off earlier today, in the new administrative capital, with the participation of heads of state and government of the 21 member states of the assembly.

The summit will be held under the slogan “Strengthening resilience through strategic economic digital integration” with the aim of encouraging the use of digital economy tools to facilitate doing business within the COMESA grouping and enhancing the resilience of member states to face the negative repercussions of the Corona pandemic on their economies.

COMESA is a joint agreement for the countries of eastern and southern Africa, and the assembly includes in its membership, in addition to Egypt, 20 countries: the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Comoros, Burundi, Eritrea, Djibouti, Kenya, Ethiopia, Eswatini (Swaziland), Malawi, Madagascar, and Libya , Seychelles, Rwanda, Mauritius, Tunisia, Sudan, Somalia, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Uganda.​

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *