Sisi assures COMESA leaders of the need for concerted efforts to confront challenges, foremost of which is the Corona pandemic

11:41 AM

Tuesday 23 November 2021

Cairo – AA:

President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi stressed today, Tuesday, the need for concerted joint efforts to confront the challenges the region is witnessing, especially the Corona pandemic, noting that the global and regional economies have witnessed many developments since the last COMESA summit in 2018.

In his acceptance speech, after Egypt assumed the presidency of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern African Countries (COMESA), during the 21st session held in the New Administrative Capital, President El-Sisi said that the Continental Free Trade Zone entered into force in January 2021. The progress made in continental economic integration has brought many challenges faced by the countries of the region and the world, due to the Corona pandemic.

He added that despite the efforts made at the international, continental and regional levels to confront the Corona pandemic, the region is still suffering from its negative effects, and the pace of recovery from it is slow. This places many responsibilities on the shoulders of this summit, which requires concerted joint efforts to confront these challenges.

He pointed out that the concert of joint efforts is embodied in the summit title, “Enhancing resilience through strategic digital economic integration,” noting that in addition to the direct impact of the pandemic on the health and lives of citizens; The pandemic affected various economic sectors and the business environment in various member states; led to a decline in regional demand and supply; Affected by the decline in global demand and supply, as well as the supply and supply chains for many goods and merchandise.

COMESA is a joint agreement for eastern and southern African countries. In addition to Egypt, the assembly includes 20 countries: the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Comoros, Burundi, Eritrea, Djibouti, Kenya, Ethiopia, Eswatini (Swaziland), Malawi, Madagascar, and Libya , Seychelles, Rwanda, Mauritius, Tunisia, Sudan, Somalia, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Uganda.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *