Democratic Party Innovation Committee “Write-in vote on the motion to arrest a member of the National Assembly… I can’t even get a congratulations or condolences.”

In the plenary session of the National Assembly held on May 29, 2018, lawmakers from the ruling and opposition parties voted to approve the arrest of Liberty Korea Party lawmakers Hong Moon-jong and Yeom Dong-yeol. Photographer Jung Yoo-kyung

On the 12th, the Democratic Party’s Party Innovation Promotion Committee unveiled an innovation plan that limits the privilege of non-arresting members of the National Assembly and the privilege of immunity. The Democratic Party Innovation Committee held a press conference at the Democratic Party of Korea in Yeouido, Seoul on the same day, and announced a second innovation plan based on △ restrictions on the privilege of non-arrest and immunity of members of the National Assembly and △ ban on receiving congratulations and donations from members of the National Assembly and local government heads. The Innovation Committee proposed to vote on the motion for arrest of members of the National Assembly immediately after reporting to the plenary session, and to change the voting method from an anonymous vote to a write-in vote. Under the current National Assembly Act, the motion for arrest is to be voted on within 24 hours and within 72 hours from the report of the plenary session, and for personnel matters, an anonymous vote is required. The Innovation Committee also proposed to establish a permanent parliamentary ethics committee, establish an ethics investigation committee, and limit the immunity of lawmakers through the formation of a citizen jury. The reason for disciplinary action for members of the National Assembly is to add ‘a case of stating false information at a plenary session or committee while knowing clearly false facts’, and to strengthen the disciplinary action for suspension of attendance, which is less than 90 days, to within 180 days. The Innovation Committee explained, “In the meantime, if disciplinary action against lawmakers was referred to the Special Ethics Committee, it would be Hamhung. . It also included a ban on receiving congratulatory and congratulatory payments for congratulations and condolences to local lawmakers and local government heads. Under the current law, members of the National Assembly and local government heads cannot give congratulations or donations to local residents, but they can. The Innovation Committee emphasized, “We must neither give nor receive,” and that “the fastest way to innovate is to restore the trust of the people and to let go of the vested interests on our own without following existing political practices.” By Shim Woo-sam, staff reporter [email protected]

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *